Monday, January 27, 2014

The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Book Info
About the book: Book Two in the Inn at Eagle Hill series.

Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher delivers her trademark twists, turns, and tender romance in this delightful and exciting visit to the deceptively quiet community of Stoney Ridge.

Twenty-year-old Bethany Schrock is restless. Her love life has derailed, her faith hangs by a thread, and she is spending the incredibly hot summer days wading through a lifetime's accumulation of junk at the home of five ancient Amish sisters. About the only thing that holds her interest is the spirited and dangerously handsome Jimmy Fisher---and he seems bent on irritating her to no end.

When the sly old sisters and a guest at the Inn get Bethany involved in running the local soup kitchen and starting a community garden, she suddenly finds herself wondering, Shootfire! How did that happen? Despite her newfound purposefulness, a gnawing emptiness about a childhood mystery continues to plague her. Encouraged by Jimmy Fisher, she will seek out the answers she craves---and uncover a shocking secret that will break her heart, heal it, and point her to love.

Purchase a copy:

Read an excerpt:

Meet the author: Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Inn at Eagle Hill series, Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of a new Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She is a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your mobile device! Download the Free App!

Learn more about Suzanne at:

My Take:  What a wonderful continuation of  this series which was started in The Letters although this book can be read as a stand alone I think you would like to start with The Letters just so you can continue to enjoy the books.  A third book will be coming out this summer.

Seems like every character in this book has strong opinions about things and is willing to voice them.  Jimmy has the easy going charm of a born flirt but can Bethany trust to give her heart away to him after the problems with Jake Hetrzler.  Bethany also wants to find out why her mother ran away all those years ago and ahe just may get the chance when her brother returns home.  Mim also has a secret of her own taking on the role of advice columnist Mrs. Miracle even though she is only 14.  Then there is Geena a youth Pastor that was fired from her job because of difficulty in presenting her sermons in a way that the congregation wanted.  They all come together for a community project that will help the down and out in the community to become a little more self sufficient.  I really enjoyed this book and look forward to the next book coming out.

I received a review copy of this book from Litfuse in exchange for my honest opinion. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to a recent large amount of spam comments I have decided to start comment moderation. I love comments so please leave them.