Friday, May 16, 2014

Book Spotlight of Curtain Call by Jennifer AILee and Lisa Karon Richardson

 AlLee & Richardson to release Curtain Call,
final book in their acclaimed Charm & Deceit series

Curtain Call by Jennifer AlLee and Lisa Karon Richardson, the third and final book in the duo’s acclaimed Charm & Deceit series releases March 1, 2014 from Whitaker House.

The mystery/romance is set in New York City, 1868 and involves the murder of Sarah DeKlerk, Pinkerton detective Carter Forbes’ only unsolved case. Forbes appears in all three Charm & Deceit books which have been met with great enthusiasm from historic fiction lovers as well as critical acclaim.

The action focuses on Carter’s sister Emily Forbes, an aspiring opera singing who has landed the leading role in a New York City opera production and Dr.Samuel DeKlerk who is the murder victim’s brother and a renowned physician. When Dr. DeKlerk becomes a patron of the New York City opera, he and Emily meet and eventually work together to unravel the mystery of Sarah DeKlerk, a murder case gone cold.

The story has the quirky, colorful characters and plot twists readers and critics alike applauded in the first two series books: Diamond in the Rough and Vanishing Act.

“Lisa and Jennifer are brilliant storytellers, and their plot twists often caught me by surprise,” Joe Allison wrote in the Christian Writers Journal. “Diamond in the Rough is not a cut-and-dried genre romance, but an authentic taste of life in 1860s California. This is the first in a series. When you’ve enjoyed the first one, you’ll watch for more. I certainly am.”

Patsy Gans, in her 4-star Romantic Times review of Vanishing Act said, “This second book in the Charm and Deceit series has a wonderful cast of characters who want to help people have closure with the death of a loved one … AlLee and Richardson have merged their writing styles for a unique series of books.”

The Charm & Deceit series is the first collaborative effort from AlLee and Richardson who are both accomplished authors.

ISBN: 978-1-62911-007-3; $12.99; Frontlist; Historical Fiction/Christian/Romance; April 2014

 About the Authors  
Jennifer AlLee and Lisa Karon Richardson are a dynamic writing team. Curtain Call concludes the duo’s first series with Whitaker House, Charm & Deceit, which also includes Diamond in the Rough and Vanishing Act.

. Lisa Karon Richardson has led a life of adventure—from serving as a missionary in the Seychelles and Gabon to returning to the States and starting a daughter-work church—and she imparts her stories with similarly action-packed plot lines.

In addition to writing and ministry, Lisa manages medical malpractice litigation for a major health system. She lives in Ohio with her husband and their two children.

Influenced by books like The Little Princess, and The Secret Garden Lisa’s early books were heavy on governesses and “creepy boarding schools.” Though she says she’s mostly all grown-up now, she still loves a healthy dash of adventure in any story she creates, even her real-life story.

Besides the Charm & Deceit series she has published Impressed by Love (Barbour Publishing 2012), The Magistrate’s Folly (Barbour Publishing January 2013), Midnight Clear (Mistletoe Memories, Barbour Publishing, September, 2013).

Jennifer AlLee
Jennifer believes the most important thing a person can do is find his or her identity in God, a theme that finds its way into all her work. She has published numerous novels, short stories, devotions, and plays. Over the years, she has enjoyed being part of church drama ministries and worship teams. Jennifer lives with her family in Las Vegas, Nevada.

She writes:
“My first brush with fame came the day I was born in Hollywood, California, and my basinet neighbor in the hospital nursery happened to be Michael Landon, Jr. When she should have been looking at me, my Aunt Karen instead gaped at the man beside her and nearly passed out when she found she was standing next to Michael Landon, Sr. at the nursery window. Myconnection with the entertainment industry had begun.

“I've always loved books and writing came as a natural extension of that. In school, whenever there was a writing assignment, I was the kid that wrote way more than was necessary. In high school, my best friend and I would write short stories for fun and trade them with each other. In fact, I wrote my first complete book in high school.”

Jennifer’s books include: The Love of His Brother (November 2007, Five Star Publishers), The Pastor's Wife (February 2010, Abingdon Press), The Mother Road (April 2012 Abingdon Press) and A Wild Goose Chase Christmas (November 2012 Abingdon Press), book two in the Quilts of Love series.

I received a review copy of this book from Whitaker House.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to a recent large amount of spam comments I have decided to start comment moderation. I love comments so please leave them.